Richard McNeff
Cyberite
Sybarite
The Dream of Boris
The Dolphin Rider
Wordlore and ELT
Home







                               
                                                      

Richard C McNeff is the author of the cult short story ‘Sybarite among the Shadows’ which first appeared in International Times and was then widely published, including in Russia and the USA. This grew into his occult and espionage themed novel of the same name, set in 1936, which was hailed by the Independent on Sunday as “so different from what you usually find on a bookshelf it should perhaps be a compulsory purchase.” He also wrote With Barry Flanagan: Travels through Time and Spain, a memoir which grew out of his experience of curating shows for the sculptor and the satire, The Dream of Boris. Martin Davies, owner of Barbary Press, described this as “art writing at its best, self-deprecating prose that makes every page a delight.” Richard has contributed to the Guardian, Fortean Times, art catalogues and Boulevard Magenta. He has lived and worked in Barcelona, the Basque Country, Ibiza and Baku. His current home is London where he was born.


 

Deceived Kingdom second edition, retitled, updated and revised. 


E-book available; paperback release date 10 November

England’s nightmare?

A week after the 2016 referendum, Boris Johnson baffled the Great British Public by pulling out of the Tory leadership contest.But why, when he seemed a dead cert to win? The answer - revealed here for the first time - lies in the dystopian dream he had the night before. Allegedly. 

It is 2026.The United Kingdom is no longer united; in fact, it doesn't exist. Boris rules what’s left of England where online referendums decide everything, with the issues thrashed out nightly on EastEnders. The Caliphate threatens from north and west. An invasion force embarks in Europe. The Queen is in exile in Germany; Harry beachcombing in the South Pacific; Charles a crofter on Skye; William about to assume the mantle of King Arthur and lead the pagans of the West. All are bent on revenge. Yet most menacing of all is the figure released from the mirror of Doctor Dee in Buckingham Palace, who hounds Boris at the Bullingdon Club reunion and then pursues him into space — David, Spirit of Britain, shapeshifting from Ziggy Stardust to Major Tom. A vision that not even Boris can ignore.
 
“It’s a hoot! Many jokes: fantastical twists and turns.”— Tony Peake, author of North Facing
 
“Brilliantly written post-Brexit satire in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire and Vonnegut.”— S.Allman
 
“Imaginative plot, greatly humorous, this vividly written satire would make a great television series.”— Andy Merriman, author of Hattie: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques
 
“It is - all at once - biting satire, science fiction fantasy, contemporary lampoon, surreal romp and stand-up comedy. It'll have you cursing at the turn of history it so skilfully derides while chuckling into your post-Brexit porridge.” — Robert Nurden, journalist and author of Between Heaven and Earth. 
 

 

The Dream of Boris was previously published as Deceived Kingdom, which in 2017 correctly forecast Prince Harry drinking kava in the South Pacific, “a most uncivil war”, and the elevation of Kate Hoey and Gisela Stuart to the Lords. Coincidentally, Deceived Kingdom used the same alias for Boris Johnson, “Marmaduke”, that he himself adopted for the rejected screenplay he wrote in 2015, Mission to Assyria.

Click on the link to hear Swedish Radio on Brexit books and Deceived Kingdom, with an interview with the author:

 


https://sverigesradio.se/sida/artikel.aspx?programid=1650&artikel=7015294

 


                           

 


 
  

SYBARITE AMONG THE SHADOWS Dylan Thomas, Aleister Crowley and Victor Neuburg caught in a surrealist web. What if the Beast returnedand you were not sure if he were the best or worst thing that had ever happened to you? Sybarite among the Shadows finds Victor Neuburg on June 11 1936 with the poet he discovered, Dylan Thomas. They embark on a quest whose object is Neuburg's old master, the Great Beast 666; settings, the Surrealist Exhibition, and pubs and clubs of bohemian London; characters, Augustus John, Nina Hamnett and Tom Driberg. Neuburg confronts his demons; Crowley does too. They also meet something far more menacing: MI5's plot to avert the Abdication.

McNeff's book is so different from anything you usually find on a bookshelf that it should perhaps be a compulsory purchase...shines a flickering light on the British avant-garde. 
The Independent on Sunday

 

 

Probably the finest modern novel featuring Aleister Crowley.
Lashtal

Aleister Crowley as himself in all his occult and charismatic glory - a manipulative, overbearing, bizarre yet compelling character. Fiction could hardly have invented him: he is a gift of a character to any novelist & Richard McNeff has accepted him, unwrapped the parcel and given him his head.

Martin Booth (Booker-Prize-shortlisted author of A Magick Life: A Biography of Aleister Crowley)

 



For more about Sybarite and writings on Crowley and Neuburg

 

 

 
  

 

With Barry Flanagan: Travels through Time and Spain

 

 

WITH BARRY FLANAGAN is a vivid account of a friendship that evolved into a working relationship when Richard McNeff became ‘spontaneous fixer’ (Flanagan’s description) of the sculptor’s show held in June 1992 at the Museum of Contemporary Art on Ibiza, where they were both living. McNeff was to gain a privileged insight into the sculptor’s singular personality and eccentric working methods, learning to decipher his memorably surreal turns of phrase and to parry his fascinating, if at times unsettling, pranksteresque quirks.

In September 1992 Flanagan and McNeff took the show to Majorca, resulting a lively visit to the celebrated Spanish artist Miquel Barceló. The following year McNeff was involved in Flanagan’s print-making venture in Barcelona and in his Madrid retrospective. Flanagan rescued him from a rough landing in England in 1994 by commissioning a tour of stone quarries there. Subsequently McNeff ran into a fourteen-year-old profoundly deaf girl who turned out to be his unknown daughter. She had a talent for art and the generous sculptor was instrumental in helping with her studies. 

Late in 2008 Barry was diagnosed with motor neurone disease. By June 2009 he was wheelchair-bound. Two months later he died, and McNeff read the lesson at his funeral. Fleshed out with biographical detail, much of it supplied by the sculptor himself, supplemented by photographs and details of the work, this touching memoir is the first retrospective of a major Welsh-born artist. With Barry Flanagan captures the spirit of this remarkable Merlinesque figure in a moving portrait that reveals a true original.

 

 

ISBN: 978 1 84351 322 3 - hardback (also in Kindle) - The Lilliput Press


"It is a very personal and often hilarious recollection of McNeff's support of Flanagan...a compelling portrait of this great artist."  
     

Barbara Dawson: Irish Arts Review 

"Your book is so rich in Barry-lore and response to his work that it more or less makes other biographies unnecessary."

 Catherine Lampert (former director of the Whitechapel Gallery)

"This book is chock full of 'Flanagan anecdotes' and as a reader I felt like I was being let in on a secret of these bohemian artists who had lived in Ibiza and their hippy and boozy lives. It is a fascinating account and whether you are familiar with Flanagan's artistic work or not, this is an extremely interesting biography which is a great read that will leave you more knowledgeable about the artist as well as entertained by the stories."
The Dublin Duchess 

"A cracking memoir - funny, informative, elegiac and thought-provoking. Barry Flanagan cast leaping leporines, spent his final years on Ibiza and was born in Prestatyn (where I attended a wonderfully 1930s prep school), but these bare factoids are also connected with the fundamental laws of the Universe. He was actually a magician with words and ideas, and his playful probing into public minds and private lives was worthy of Gandalf himself. Ibizaholics will delight in McNeff's expert skewering of island life and mores, while the artist's hilarious two-step with museum directors and local hacks is sheer joy. The journey into Flanagan's Jarryesque modus operandi is art writing at its best, self-deprecating prose that makes every page a delight. Lilliput Press have risen magnificently to the occasion with pruned-back design, a sensible typeface, nice, creamy paper plus a sprinkling of helpful illustrations. In short, like a glittering vernissage you cannot afford to miss."

Martin Davies (founder of Barbary Press, Ibiza)


 


 



 

Miquel Barceló i Barry Flanagan. Cerámiques i Dibuxos

 
Enrique Juncosa, Elena Ruiz Sastre y Richard McNeff  

2012
  

Publisher: Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Ibiza, Ajuntament D'Eivissa 

Miquel Barceló and Barry Flanagan, Ceramics and Drawings, published to coincide with the

exhibition of the two artists' work at the Museum of Contemporary Art of Ibiza 27 of April to 31

October 2012. Contains McNeff"s account of the their first meeting in English, Spanish and

Catalan.





 

All images and text on this site are posted in good faith in the belief that they do not infringe the copyright of any third party. Should you have any reason to think this is not the case please contact the author: rcmcneff@hotmail.com




Home
Songs
Poetry
Lynne Munn - Poet
Richard Snr- Actor
Barry Flanagan - Sculptor